Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Bram Stoker Award winners for Best Novel

Back on April 29, I gave you one of my all-time favorite recommended reading lists: The Horror Writers Association (HWA) Reading List.
Tonight, I give you a list of all of the horror novels that have received the HWA’s annual Bram Stoker Award. Named for the author of “Dracula,” the Bram Stoker Award was first given in 1987. Awards are given in 12 categories, and any work of horror first published in English is eligible for nomination by HWA members.
Without further ado, here are the winners for best horror novel:
1987 (tie) – Misery by Stephen King
1987 (tie) – Swan Song by Robert McCammon
1988 – The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris
1989 – Carrion Comfort by Dan Simmons
1990 – Mine by Robert McCammon
1991 - Boy’s Life by Robert McCammon
1992 – The Blood of the Lamb by Thomas F. Monteleone
1993 – The Throat by Peter Straub (pictured above)
1994 – Dead in the Water by Nancy Holder
1995 – Zombie by Joyce Carol Oates
1996 – The Green Mile by Stephen King
1997 – Children of the Dusk (Madagascar Manifesto Trilogy) by Janet Berliner
1998 – Bag of Bones by Stephen King
1999 – Mr. X by Peter Straub
2000 – The Traveling Vampire Show by Richard Laymon
2001 – American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2002 – The Night Class by Tom Piccirilli
2003 – Lost Boy, Lost Girl by Peter Straub
2004 – In the Night Room by Peter Straub
2005 (tie) – Creepers by David Morrell
2005 (tie) – Dread In the Beast by Charlee Jacob
2006 – Lisey’s Story by Stephen King
2007 – The Missing by Sarah Langan
2008 – Duma Key by Stephen King
2009 – Audrey’s Door by Sarah Langan
Stephen King, the greatest horror writer of our lifetimes, has won the award five times (1987, 1996, 1998, 2006 and 2008), more times than any other writer. King’s friend, Peter Straub, has won the award four times (1993, 1999, 2003 and 2004) and is one of only two authors to have won it back-to-back. Robert McCammon, whom I’ve never read, has won it three times (1987, 1990 and 1991) and is the only other writer to have won it twice in a row. Sarah Langan is the only other author to have won the award more than once (2007 and 2009).
In the end, I’d be interested to know which of these books you’ve had a chance to read. (I’ve italicized those that I’ve read.) What did you think about them and which would you recommend? Let us know in the comments section below.

No comments:

Post a Comment