Monday, September 20, 2010

Writer's Digest's 101 Best Websites for Writers

Writer’s Digest published its annual list of 101 Best Websites for Writers in its May/June 2010 issue, and I wanted to pass it along today for the writers in the reading audience who may have missed it.

This is a list that I look forward to each year, and this year marks the twelfth year that the magazine has put this list together. This year’s list is divided into nine sections – creativity, writing advice, general resources, jobs and markets, online writing communities, everything agents, publishing/marketing resources, genres/niches and just for fun. (You’ll also see where I’ve tossed in a list of the Writer’s Digest family of sites too.)

Below you’ll find the entire list, but I’ve only listed the name of the site and its Web address. The original story in the May/June issue contains a lot more information about each site, so if you’d like to read more about the sites on this list, I’d encourage you to pick up a copy of the magazine or visit www.writersdigest.com.

Without further ado, here’s the list:

Creativity (1-5):
Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest: bulwer-lytton.com
Creative Writing Prompts: creativewritingprompts.com
Easy Street Prompts: easystreetprompts.blogspot.com
Six Sentences: sixsentences.blogspot.com
Six-Word Memoirs: smithmag.net/sixwords

Writing Advice (6-21):
A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing: jakonrath.blogspot.com
Ask Allison: allisonwinn.com/ask-allison
Chris Guillebeau: chrisguillebeau.com
Editorial Anonymous: editorialanonymous.blogspot.com
Editorial Ass: editorialass.blogspot.com
Evil Editor: evileditor.blogspot.com
Grammar Blog: grammarblog.co.uk
Grammar Girl: grammar.quickanddirtytips.com
InkyGirl.com: inkygirl.com
Long Story Short: An E-Zine for Writers: alongstoryshort.net
Novel Journey: noveljourney.blogspot.com
Plot Whisperer for Writers and Readers: plotwhisperer.blogspot.com
Preditors and Editors: invirtuo.cc/prededitors
Writer Beware Blog: accrispin.blogspot.com
Writer Unboxed: writerunboxed.com
Writing Tips Today: writing-tipstoday.com

General Resources (22-28):
Book Cover Archive: bookcoverarchive.com
Bookreporter.com: bookreporter.com
The Chicago Manual of Style Online: chicagomanualofstyle/CMS_FAQ/new/new_questions01.html
Gawker: gawker.com
Twitter: twitter.com
United States Copyright Office: copyright.gov
Wikipedia: wikipedia.org

Jobs and Markets (29-35):
Duotrope’s Digest: duotrope.com
Ed (2010): ed2010.com
The Freelance Writing Jobs Network: freelancewritinggigs.com
Funds for Writers: fundsforwriters.com
JournalismJobs.com: journalismjobs.com
MediaBistro: mediabistro.com
Writer Gazette: writergazette.com

Online Writing Communities (36-47):
Absolute Writer: absolutewrite.com
Authonomy: authonomy.com
Backspace: bksp.org
Critique Circle: critiquecircle.com
Critters Workshop: critters.org
The Internet Writing Workshop: internetwritingworkshop.org
Mike’s Writing Workshop: groups.yahoo.com/group/mikeswritingworkshop
My Writers Circle: mywriterscircle.com
National Novel Writing Month: nanowrimo.org
Writer’s BBS: writersbbs.com
The Writer’s Chatroom: writerschatroom.com
Writing.com: writing.com

Everything Agents (48-56):
Agent Query: agentquery.com
Association of Authors’ Representatives: aaronline.org
Chip MacGregor: chipmacgregor.typepad.com
Dystel & Goderich Literary Management: dglm.blogspot.com
Kidlit.com: kidlit.com
Nathan Bransford: blog.nathanbransford.com
Query Shark: queryshark.blogspot.com
Query Tracker: querytracker.net
Rants & Ramblings on Life as a Literary Agent: cba-ramblings.blogspot.com

Publishing/Marketing Resources (57-68):
A Book Inside: How to Write and Publish a Book: abookinside.blogspot.com
Author Tech Tips: authortechtips.com
BoSacks: bosacks.com
Holt Uncensored: holtuncensored.com
The Intern: internspills.blogspot.com
Michael Hyatt: michaelhyatt.com
OnceWritten.com: oncewritten.com
Open Publishing Lab: opl.rit.edu
O’Reilly TOC: toc.oreilly.com
Publetariat: publetariat.com
Seth Godin’s Blog: sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog
Winning Writers: winningwriters.com

Genres/Niches (69-96):
Children’s/Young Adult:
Cheryl Klein: cherylklein.com
Cynsations: cynthialeitichsmith.blogspot.com
The Purple Crayon: underdown.org
Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators: scbwi.org

Fantasy/Science Fiction:
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America: sfwa.org

Freelance:
The Copywriter Underground: copywriterunderground.com
Freelance-Zone.com: freelance-zone.com
The Renegade Writer Blog: therenegadewriter.com

Horror:
Horror Writers Association: horror.org/writetips.htm

Mystery:
Mystery Writers of America: mysterywriters.org
Mystery Writing is Murder: mysterywritingismurder.blogspot.com

Poetry:
JPiC Forum for Writers: jpicforum.info
MoonTown: moontowncafe.com
Poetry Out Loud: poetryoutloud.org
Poets.org: poets.org
Wild Poetry Forum: wildpoetryforum.com

Romance:
Romance Divas: romancedivas.com
Romance Junkies: romancejunkies.com
Romance Writers of America: rwanational.org

Scriptwriting:
Drew’s Script-O-Rama: script-o-rama.com
John August: johnaugust.com
Scriptwriters Network: scriptwritersnetwork.org

Spiritual:
Christian Story Teller: christianstoryteller.com
Resources for Muslim Writers: muslimwriters.blogspot.com

Thriller:
International Thriller Writers: thrillerwriters.org
Murder*By*4: murderby4.blogspot.com

Women’s Writing:
Literary Mama: literarymama.com
WOW! Women on Writing: wow-womenonwriting.com

Just For Fun (97-101):
BookMooch: bookmooch.com
Cool Stuff 4 Writers: coolstuff4writers.com
DailyLit: dailylit.com
LibraryThing: librarything.com
Wordsmith: wordsmith.org

The Writers Digest Family of Sites:
Writersdigest.com
Writersmarket.com
WritersDigestUniversity.com
Community.WritersDigest.com
WritersDigest.com/blogs

In the end, let me know if you like any of these sites or if you know of any other helpful writing sites that aren’t on the list.

No comments:

Post a Comment