Thursday, December 8, 2011

The Evergreen Courant's Sports Flashback for Dec. 8, 2011

DEC. 8, 2005

“After watching a game with Greenville slip away Tuesday of last week in Greenville, Hillcrest finished strong Friday to seal a 60-46 win over Monroe County High School in Monroeville.
“Senior Chris Hines was a dominant force inside, finishing with 19 points and 11 rebounds.”
Other standout Hillcrest players in that game included Justin Holder, Richard Johnson, Cleveland Knight, Nick Lovelace, Curtis Richardson, P.K. Riley and Derrell Simpson.

“After being held under 40 points Tuesday of last week in a 67-32 loss to Faith Academy, Sparta’s Lady Warriors exploded for 52 points to defeat Calvary Christian Academy, 52-13, last Thursday at Calvary.
“Susan Ann Cook, a 5-6 sophomore, topped Sparta’s offense with her 14 points.”
Other standout Sparta girls players in that game included Hayden Armuelles, Erin Brock, Deanna Covin, Camarena Godwin, Kimber Godwin, Morgan Harden, Mallory Kendrick, Kara Layton and Erica Palmer.

“Sparta Academy’s varsity boys shook off a 56-23 loss to Faith Academy Tuesday of last week to defeat Calvary Christian Academy 63-49 northeast of Montgomery Thursday.
“Will Ivey, a senior forward, finished with 15 points, four assists and three steals to pace the Warriors.”
Other standout Sparta players in that game included Chase Brown, Michael Campbell, Chris Cinereski, Ethan Johnson, Tony Raines and Eric Talbot.

DEC. 13, 1990

“The Conecuh County Chapter of The University of Alabama Alumni Association held its annual meeting last Thursday night in the old L&N Depot. Featured speaker for the evening was Dr. Emily Moore, director of the Paul Bryant Museum in Tuscaloosa. Dr. Moore presented a thoroughly interesting slide presentation on the museum exhibits to the group. Pictured are Dr. Lamar Jackson, Secretary/Treasurer of the local chapter; Jeanice Kirkland, President of the National Alumni Association, who is a resident of Andalusia; Dr. Emily Moore; Jodi Campbell, a representative of the Alumni Association; and Harriet Hyde, President of the local chapter.”

“Wayne Nevelous, president of the Evergreen Eastside Football League, was recently presented a certificate of appreciation award from Edward Tullis, board member of the league. Nevelous received the award for his outstanding service to the league.”

“Cyndale A. Goneke caught this trigger fish about the ‘Low Bidder.’ This was her first fish and she wanted to share it with all her friends. Cyndale is the daughter of Dale and Linda Goneke.”

“The Dixie Barrel Racing Association has elected officers for the coming year. 1991 President will be Alan Pugh of Evergreen. Alan is a professional barrel racer who has trained and run futurity barrel horses in various parts of the United States for numerous years.”

DEC. 11, 1975

“The Sparta Academy Warriors had four players named to the All District III Football Team of the Alabama Private School Athletic Association.
“Seniors Walker Scott, full back, Greg Still, guard-linebacker, and George McKenzie, tackle, and Andy Skipper, a junior end, were named to the all-star group when the district’s coaches met at Sparta last week to select the team.”

“Coach Charles Branum’s Evergreen High Aggies are at it again. Tuesday night last week the Aggies coasted to their fourth straight win of the season as they defeated Conecuh County High of Castleberry, 84-56.
“Chuck Jones led the Aggies past the Blue Devils with 23 points and is averaging 20 points a game. Walter Bullock meshed 19 points, Ronald Fantroy, 16, and Marion Stanton, 10. Bubba Moncrease led the Castleberry scorers with 18 points.
“Jones scored 32 points as the Aggies downed Alba, 67-45, on Nov. 26.”

“The undefeated Sparta Warriors racked up their fourth straight win of the young basketball season Tuesday night downing Escambia Academy, 67-56, at Canoe.
“Bobby Johnson with 18 and Ronnie Pugh with 17 led the Warrior scoring. Jerry Peacock had 12; Walker Scott and Joe Andrews, seven each; and Woody Register and Hugh Bradford, three each.”
Other standout Sparta players in that game included Jeff Daniels and Gray Stevens.

DEC. 8, 1960

“James Reaves, son of Mr. and Mrs. Billy Adams, Rt. D, Evergreen, was awarded the D.T. Stuart Sportsmanship Trophy at the Quarterback Club’s Annual Football Banquet last Thursday night at Evergreen High School.
“Auburn U. Backfield Coach Buck Bradberry, featured speaker on the program, was introduced by Aggie Assistant Coach, John Law Robinson.
“Four members of the 1960 Aggies received post season recognition. Coach Wendell Hart announced Leon Stinson made Class A All State and Rebel Conference teams. James Reaves and Mike Miller made the all Rebel Conference team and Billy Melton has received an offer of grant-in-aid scholarship to Auburn University.
“Members of the team who received letters were Billy Melton, James Reaves, Billy Bateman, Johnny Ivey, Jerry Watson, Brown Boykin, Phillip Brown, Jerry Windham, Bobby Potts, Mike Miller, Jimmy Dunn and Rhett Smith, all seniors.
“Returnees who lettered were Leon Stinson, H.W. Ward, Duncan Roberts, Bonner Ridgeway, Jimmy Kelley, Wayne Blair, Bobby Lynch, Donald Jones, Ronald Jones, Jimmy Weaver and team manager Robert Brooks.
“Cheerleaders who lettered were Joy Davis, Mary Hunter, Frieda Griggers Carrier, Jackie Thornley, Barbara Stinson and Mary Kay Eddins.
“Captains for next year were not named.
“Senator Bob Kendall announced at the end of the program that the QB Club will give tickets to members of the 1960 Aggies and cheerleaders for the Senior Football game at Mobile in January.”

Compiled by Sports Reporter Lee Peacock from past issues of The Evergreen Courant. To read The Courant’s weekly Sports Flashback feature online, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment