Monday, May 16, 2016

The Evergreen Courant's Sports Flashback for May 16, 2016

MAY 17, 1973

Cliff Harper was the speaker at the Sparta Academy Quarterback Club’s Awards Banquet held Saturday night at the Holiday Inn. Harper is assistant commissioner of the Southeastern Conference and former executive secretary of the Alabama High School Athletic Association. He was principal of Evergreen High School for two years right after World War II.

Tal Stuart Jr. presents the D.T. Stuart Jr. Sportsmanship Trophy to Gary McInvale at the Sparta Academy Quarterback Club’s awards banquet.
(Other athletes receiving awards at that the 2nd annual banquet were Eddie Hooks, Best Baseball Batter Award; Bruce Hutcheson, Baseball Hustler Award; David Jackson, Basketball Sportsmanship Award and Baseball Sportsmanship Award; Donald Jackson, Basketball Rebound Award; Tom Nall, Best Basketball Field Goal Percentage Award, Free Throw Shooting Percentage Award and Basketball Captain’s Award; Don Owens, Football Captain’s Award and Baseball Captain’s Award; Walker Scott, Best Baseball Fielder Award; Sam Skipper, Football Hustler Award; and Walt Lee Ward, Best Defensive Football Player Award.)

This Evergreen Outlet Team is tied for first place in the Evergreen Men’s Softball League with a 3-1 record. Tonight, Warren Ford meets McKenzie at 7 and Cotton-Hutcheson plays Evergreen Outlet at 8:30. Tuesday night the Outlet plays Warren at 7 and McKenzie meets Cotton-Hutcheson at 8:30. All games are played at Brooks Stadium.
(Players on the Evergreen Outlet team included Terry Coleman, Lavon Tolbert, Jacob Coleman, Stanley Johnston, Larry Peacock, Kenneth DuBose (sponsor), Charles Branum, Sammy Brown, Wayne Peacock, Wendell Burt, Jimmy Brown, Steve Windham, Jerry Adams, Terry Chapman, John Adams, Jimmy Hart, Johnny Etheridge and Johnny Daw.)

SAC All Stars play Saturday in Andalusia: The East v. West All Star Baseball Game of the South Alabama Conference will be played Saturday afternoon at three o’clock at Waltman Field in Johnson Park, Andalusia. All-Stars from Covington and Crenshaw will play against Butler and Conecuh stars
The game is sponsored by the Andalusia Lions Club with proceeds going to Alabama Sight Conservation. Major League and college scouts will select five players to go to Mobile the following Saturday to play in the Southern Division game.
Stars chosen from Conecuh County include Charlie Johnson and Wavie Ausby of Evergreen and Steve Anthony and Jackie Gorum of Lyeffion.

Keith Pugh sets new record in 440: Keith Pugh, son of Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Pugh of Evergreen, a sophomore at Monroe Academy, won first place in the 440-yard dash at the Southern Regional track meet in Jackson, Miss. on Saturday. Keith’s time was 52.2 seconds. He won fourth place in the broad jump. Earlier, Keith set a Alabama Private School Athletic Association state record for the 440-yard dash with a time of 50.4 seconds.

Donkey basketball Lyeffion Friday: A donkey basketball game will be played at the Lyeffion High School Gymnasium at eight o’clock Friday night. In addition to the laugh provoking game, there will be a contest with a prize awarded to the first person to put a diaper on a donkey.
The game is sponsored by the Lyeffion Quarterback Club and admission prices are $1 for adults and 75 cents for students.

MAY 15, 1958

Aggies Defeat Monroeville 13-0: The score was very much like one from a football game, but the game was definitely baseball, when Friday the Aggie nine downed Monroeville, 13-0. The winning pitcher was Ken Tucker, who pitched a four-hit shutout and also collected two for four at the plate. In the seventh inning, the Aggies worked over three Monroeville hurlers while running up the score. Robert Ellington contributed to the cause by slamming a home run in the third inning with two men on. In all, it was an afternoon thoroughly enjoyed by the Aggie ball team.

Frisco Downs Aggies 8 to 2: The Aggie baseball squad traveled to Frisco City last Tuesday for their first game in the area playoffs. This also proved to be their last game in the playoffs as they dropped it by a score of 8 to 2.
The winning pitcher for the Whippets was J. Dunn, although he was relieved by R. Dunn in the fourth inning. J. Dunn also led the Frisco City hitters as he collected a home run. Ken Tucker pitched for the Aggies and pitched a good ball game, but was a victim of poor support with E.H.S. committing several errors.
Frisco City jumped to a quick 1 to 0 lead, but the Aggies scored two runs in the third inning to go ahead for the only time as the Whippets scored three runs the next inning and went ahead to stay.

Dodgers And Chicks Win In Opening Games: The Evergreen Little League began official play Tuesday night with games between the Chicks and Orioles and the Yankees and the Dodgers.
In the American League, the Chicks dropped the Orioles by a score of 9-1. Glass was the winning pitcher for the Chicks and Engle was credited with the loss for the Orioles.
The Chicks were credited with two hits, both collected by second sacker Kelly. Kelly tagged a single in the third inning and a double in the fourth. The Orioles failed to tough Glass for a single hit.
Losing pitcher Engle fanned 10 men and walked 10. Glass struck out six men and walked four.
Yankees-Dodgers: In the National League, the Dodgers continued their winning ways from previous seasons by dropping the Yankees by a score of 13-7.
Briggs was credited with the win for the Dodgers and Cloud was the losing pitcher for the Yanks.
Lambert led the Dodger hitters at the plate with two doubles for three trips. He was followed by Tolbert and Jackson with singles, and Briggs who connected with a three-bagger. The losing Yanks were led at the plate by Scott Cook who tagged two doubles and Salter, Warren and Hayes who singled.
Although both teams were even on hits, superior fielding by the Dodgers spelled defeat for the Yanks.

MAY 15, 1913

The following are the new officers elected at a recent meeting of the Country Club: W.M. Newton, president; C.P. Deming, vice president; E.J. McCreary, secretary and treasurer; Board of Control: C.P. Deming, W.M. Newton, H.W. Dunn, W.B. Ivey, M.C. Reynolds; New members, J.H. Dey, W.D. Brown, R.R. Long.

No comments:

Post a Comment