Wednesday, December 9, 2015

The Evergreen Courant's Sports Flashback for Dec. 9, 2015

Coach John Vaught
DEC. 8, 2011

Sparta Academy’s Dalton Baggett was named the Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman last Thursday as he helped lead the West All-Stars to a 29-6 win over the East All-Stars during the Alabama Independent School Association’s 42nd All-Star Football Classic at Stanley-Jensen Stadium in Prattville.
Baggett, a 6-foot-2, 215-pound senior defensive end, was selected to the West All-Star team on Nov. 14 and was named the West’s Most Outstanding Lineman for his performance in last Thursday’s game.

Evergreen’s Deaundrea Lyons made his presence felt Friday night as he helped the Faulkner State Community College Sun Chiefs get a 79-71 win over Gadsden State Community College in Bay Minette.
Lyons, a 6-foot-5, 215-pound freshman forward who starred at Hillcrest High School last season, scored two points and grabbed a defensive rebound in the win.

Hillcrest High School’s varsity boys basketball team picked up its third win of the season Friday night by beating Greenville, 69-54, in Evergreen.
Barry Smith, a 6-foot-3 senior forward, led the Jags with 22 points, and his brother, Barron Smith, followed with 10 points. Demetrius Likely finished the night with eight points.

Sparta Academy’s varsity boys beat Wilcox Academy, 59-47, Tuesday of last week in Evergreen.
Dylan Middleton led Sparta with a double double. He scored 17 points, grabbed 19 rebounds and stole the ball twice.

DEC. 12, 1996

The Sparta Academy Lady Warriors defeated Marion Academy, 80-43, on Dec. 5 at Marion. Aundria Griffin was the leading scorer for Sparta with 27 points. Also scoring in double figures were Nikki Jones with 18 points and Andrea Ward with 14 points.
Also scoring for the Lady Warriors were Jill Pate with seven points; Cass Ralls, six points; Jenny Harper, three points; Kristin Smith and Jennifer Coker, two points each; and Sunshine Floyd, one point.

The Sparta Academy Boys Varsity Basketball team lost to Ashford Academy, 54-50, in a game played Dec. 7 at Sparta. Jason Robinson led the way for the Warriors with 23 points.
Rod McIntyre was also in double figures with 13 points. Rounding out the scoring for the Warriors were Seth McIntyre with seven points; Chad Morris, four points; and Josh Pate, three points.

The Sparta Academy Lady Warriors whipped Ashford Academy, 71-37, on Dec. 7 at Sparta Academy. Andrea Ward scored 26 points to lead the Lady Warriors. Also in double figures were Nikki Jones with 20 points and Cass Ralls with 10 points.
Shelley Bell had seven points; Jennifer Coker, five points; and Jill Pate and Sally Hartley, two points each, to round out the scoring for the Lady Warriors. Sparta won the game with a stifling defense that kept Ashford bottled up all afternoon.

DEC. 10, 1981

Evergreen High School held their 1981 football banquet Saturday night with the guest speaker being Charlie Bradshaw, head football coach at Troy State University.
Wayne Bell opened up the program and then turned it over to the Rev. Jimmy Powell who gave the invocation before dinner.
After dinner, Principal Ronnie Brogden remarked about several different topics pertaining to the sports programs, then he turned it back over to Bell, who introduced Coach Bradshaw, who gave a fine speech.
Coach Bradshaw shared a few fine points in his career, those starting when he played under Coach Bryant at Kentucky. In 1950-51, he coached at Lanier High School in Montgomery, where he won two consecutive state championships. His team was led those two years by Bart Starr, who is now the coach of the Green Bay Packers.
After the speech, the presentation of awards began with Coach Bobby Pierson presenting awards to the cheerleaders. Coach Mike Burch gave out certificates to the football players. Coach Pierson presented awards to the seniors. Head football coach Danny Covin then wrapped up the ceremonies with the presentation of trophies.
Top awards went to the following players: Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Shannon Hall; Outstanding Offensive Back, Frank Likely; Outstanding Defensive Lineman, Deatrich Wise; Outstanding Defensive Back, James Lee; and the Most Valuable was Autero Scott.

DEC. 8, 1966

Faulkner to sign grid grant-in-aid with Ole Miss: Homer Faulkner, star Evergreen Aggie quarterback, said this week that he would sign a grant-in-aid with the University of Mississippi. Representatives of the University are to be here Sunday to get his name on the line.
Faulkner, six feet five inches and 190 pounds, was sought by a number of schools as his exploits on the field this fall drew rave notices from college scouts. He made up his mind this past week end when he was a guest on the Ole Miss campus.
Faulkner is the first Aggie to win a football scholarship since Wayne Frazier signed with Auburn. Frazier starred for three years with the Tigers and is having an outstanding season as offensive center with the Kansas City Chiefs.
Ole Miss Coach John Vaught hailed Faulkner’s declaration. He said that he was tired of little quarterbacks and welcomed one of Faulkner’s stature and ability.
Faulkner was an outstanding punter and kickoff man in addition to handling the quarterback chores. He also kicked one field goal. As a punter, he averaged well over 45 yards per kick and he had more long runs to his credit than any Aggie back in years. Aggie Coach Cliff Little calls him “the best I’ve coached.”

Bill Snowden of Evergreen won a letter for football during chapel ceremonies at Marion Institute Monday. Snowden played on the prep school team this fall. He was starting halfback for the Evergreen Aggies last year.

DEC. 13, 1951

Thirty Evergreen High Aggie football players, Coaches Wendell Hart and Spencer Davis and the cheerleaders were honored at the annual Evergreen Quarterback Club Football Banquet Wednesday night at the high school lunchroom.
Guest speaker for the occasion was Coach Tres Fiestes, line coach of Auburn, who paid tribute to the team whose spirit and clean, hard play earned for it the Buddy Salter Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship. The team was rated best by the officials of the Central Alabama Officials Association who made the award voted on the basis of over 300 games worked in central and south Alabama this year.
Highlighting the banquet was the annual award of the D.T. Stuart Sportsmanship Award given each year to the player best exemplifying the attributes of good sportsmanship, leadership, clean-but-hard play and team spirit. The award went to Gillis Morgan whose play before being lost for the season was great and who’s conduct after this disappointing accident was inspiring to players, coaches and the school.
Coach Hart introduced the captains of the 1952 team elected this week by the players. Pace Bozeman, hard running fullback who led the team’s ground gainers and scorers, was named Captain. Shirley Frazier, end and halfback, will serve as alternate captain next year.
Coach Hart awarded letters to 19 players and Manager Garvin Langley. Seniors receiving letters were Donahue Edson (4), Gillis Morgan (4), Gwyn Daniels (3), Lurton Chambers and Edward Evers (2); juniors, Pace Bozeman (2), Shirley Frazier, Billy Lewis, Joe Stowers, Sammy Robison, Bill Robinson and Cullen Edson; sophomores, Sam Cope (2), Paul Hanks and Lamar Sheffield; freshmen, Ward Alexander Jr., Jimmy Frazier, Wayne Douglas, Richard Taylor.
Players recognized who did not receive letters included Wayne Andrews, Wayne Bell, Danny Golson, Gene Wilkerson, Ronnie Edson, Raphael Ansley, Alvin Reeves, Johnny Fussell and Lavon Shaver.

Letters were awarded too to these cheerleaders, Illeana Stallworth, Patricia Alexander, Phyllis Cunningham, Maurice Golson, Barbara DaLee and Elaine Hassel.

No comments:

Post a Comment